The most delicious treat I’ve made in a while: Fudgy Avocado Brownies

avocado browniesOver the past few weeks, the garden has been sprouting up zucchini like crazy, and I paid a visit to my dear friend Erin, with whom I share a passion making baked goods healthier, both of which have contributed to my interest in baking with vegetables. When I was in Indiana visiting Erin and her nearly one-year-old son, we made zucchini brownies. We were talking too much to document the process, but trust me when I say they were goooood.

The weekend following the zucchini brownie-making adventure, I decided to make my foray into the world of avocados in baked goods.

avocado icing

avocado icing: like guac except with confectioner’s sugar instead of garlic!

I’ve heard from a few people, and read in a few blogs, that avocados can just as easily be a sweet food as they are savory, and work well as a great butter alternative. My brother-in-law’s friend apparently calls them “green butter,” which makes perfect sense, given their smooth and rich consistency.

Recipes for avocado brownies are not hard to find on Pinterest, and I went with this one from How Sweet It Is. I didn’t modify the recipe as much as I usually do; the main change I made was to use less sugar. I also added soy milk (due to using avocados that weren’t ripe enough), used vegetable oil instead of avocado oil and added chocolate chips (because why not?).

avocado browniesThe brownies turned out to be incredibly delicious. They were definitely 89 times tastier than brownies I’ve made using yogurt or applesauce as butter alternatives, because they kept that rich, fudgy texture that make brownies so irresistible.

Avocado Brownies Recipe

Ingredients:

For Brownies
2 large ripe avocados, mashed as well as you can (about 1 1/8 cups)
8 ounces high-quality dark chocolate, melted
¾ cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
¾ cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons vegetable or grape seed oil
4 ounces dark chocolate chips
1 – 4 tablespoons soy milk (if the batter needs some moisture due to under-ripe avocado)

For Frosting
1 large ripe avocado
2 ½ cups powdered sugar
¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

For Brownies:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Liberally spray a 9-inch square pan with non-stick spray.

In a large bowl, whisk mashed avocado and melt chocolate. Whisk in sugar until combined, then add in eggs and vanilla extract, mixing well. Add in flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt, mixing with a large spoon until JUST combined – do not over mix. Stir in avocado oil until it’s well distributed and batter is somewhat smooth. Fold in chopped chocolate, then spread batter in pan. Bake for 28-32 minutes, or until middle is set. Remove and let cool completely, then frost and top with grated chocolate if desired.

Note: I placed these in the fridge (covered thoroughly with plastic wrap) to store and when eaten immediately from the fridge, they can be even denser and slightly dry, so I recommend letting them come to room temp or even placing them in the microwave (we did this!).

For Frosting:
Add avocado to the bowl of an electric mixer and beat until mashed and creamy. With the mixer on low speed, add in vanilla then slowly add in powdered sugar, scraping down the sides if needed, until a smooth frosting forms. Frost brownies once cooled.

Leave a Reply

